Thursday, August 20, 2009

Lisa O Piu – When This Was The Future - 2009

Quality: VBR 218-259 kbps
Label: Subliminal Sounds, XMLP-SUB33 (ltd 500 copies 180 gr), SUBCD29, Sweden

01 Cinnamon Sea
02 Forest Echo
03 Traitor
04 The Party
05 Two
06 Equatorial Changes
07 Alvdans Vid Kolarkojan
08 And So On 

Lisa Isaksson: voices, guitars, flute, rhodes, percussion, etc.
Anders Engqvist: accordion, percussion, clarinet, etc.
David Svedmyr: electric guitar, 12-string guitar, bass pedals, mellotron, percussion, etc.
Joel Munther: bass, acoustic guitar, voice
Jennie Ståbis: voice, melodica, percussion, etc.
Maria Lagerlöf: voice, flute, percussion, etc.

"The songs are about being conscious in relationships close to natural processes with that touch of magic and romantiscm, facing the differences of one mind and two, or two sources in one, of cycles and processes. Lisa Isaksson has the sweetness of natural magic in her voice, crystal clear and with overdubbed vocal arrangements. Accompanied by acoustic and electrified acoustic guitar, while glockenspiel, flute moods, fiddle and such and some mellotron add dreamy flavours. Progressive music minded Mattias Gustavsson (Life on Earth! / Dungen) has produced the album, leaving his mark by filling some spaces with additional arrangements. A beautiful new addition to the old classics like These Trails, Vashti Bunyan, Linda Perhacs".

Highly recommended!

Lisa O Piu - Whisperers, Wavers, Hunters and Sailors (7" vinyl single Ltd) - 2008

Quality: CBR 128 kbps (sorry no better copy available)
Label: Autumn Ferment Records, AFR001, UK (Limited to 500 numbered copies on black vinyl)

A1 Whisperers, Wavers, Hunters and Sailors  
B1 Equatorial Changes

Lisa Isaksson: all instruments & vocals, artwork cover, written & recorded

"Lisa O Piu's (Lisa Isaksson) 7" vinyl, featuring sleeve art by Lisa herself, heralds the first release for Autumn Ferment Records. 
'Whisperers, Wavers, Hunters and Sailors' and 'Equatorial Changes' provide a fantastic introduction to the otherworldly 
sound that Lisa creates. Lyrically nostalgic and thought provoking, Lisa's hushed vocals combined with stirring harmonies 
and dreamlike melodies tenderly picked on acoustic guitar warrant comparisons to classic late sixties and early seventies 
recordings by the likes of Linda Perhacs, Joni Mitchell or Vashti Bunyan. Influences and comparisons aside, Lisa's well 
structured compositions bring their own unique qualities to the present day blend of alternative folk". 

"Taken from Lisa's home recorded lo-fi gem of a cdr, these two tracks capture the original rustic charm of her early sessions 
and the feel of a one take recording. Now preserved on the holiest of musical formats, these recordings will stand to represent 
the ascent of a truly talented musician who has a great future ahead of her".

Monday, August 10, 2009

Avital Raz - Strange Love Songs EP - 2007

Quality: 320 kbps
Label: Self release

01 Migraine in Katmandu
02 Weep
03 Migraine in Jerusalem
04 A Strange Love Song
05 In You
06 All Pains

Avital Raz: guitar, tanpura, vocals, backing vocals
Ofra Avni: bansuri flute

Israeli singer-songwriter Avital Raz is trained in both classical western and Indian classical music. Her album is (~28 minute) an intimate fusion of folk, Indian classical music, English Renaissance and American singer-songwriters. 

Beautiful music – Not to be missed this!

Sunday, August 9, 2009

Meg Baird, Helena Espvall and Sharron Kraus - Leaves From Off The Tree - 2006

Quality: VBR 175-217 kbps
Label: Bo'Weavil Recordings, Weavil 16, UK

01 Bruton Town
02 Barbry Ellen
03 Furtune My Foe
04 Willie Of Winsbury
05 The Nightingale
06 John Hardy
07 The Derry Dems Of Arrow
08 Now Westlin' Winds (Lyrics By: Robert Burns)
09 False Sir John

Meg Baird:vocals, guitar
Helena Espvall: vocals, cello
Sharron Kraus: vocals, guitar, dulcimer

Meg Baird - Dear Companion - 2007

Quality: CBR 320 kbps
Label: Drag City, DC340CD, US / Wichita, WEBB145CD, UK

01 Dear Companion (written by: Traditional)
02 River Song (written by: Chris Thompson)
03 The Cruelty Of Barbary Allen (written by: Traditional)
04 Do What You Gotta Do (written by: Jimmy Webb)
05 Riverhouse In Tinicum (written by: Meg Baird)
06 The Waltze Of The Tennis Players (written by: Allan H. Fraser)
07 Maiden In The Moor Lay (written by: Meg Baird)
08 Sweet William And Fair Ellen (written by: Traditional)
09 All I Ever Wanted (written by: John C. Dawson)
10 Willie O'Winsbury (written by: Traditional)
11 Dear Companion (A Cappella) (written by: Traditional)

Meg Baird: acoustic guitar, vocals

Saturday, August 8, 2009

Haruko & Hlynur Gudjonsson - Stable Session EP - 2009

Quality: CBR 192 kbps
Label: Gold and Silver Recordings, GS-FREE-001 / Free Digital file

01 Chicago (Hlynur Gudjonsson) 5:38
02 Spring in Our Lungs (Haruko) 3:13

This session was recorded live with two microphones in a little stable out on the field nearby my home on the 25th of January 2009 by Gold and Silver Recordings. It contains one song from each artist.

The songs were performed by the two of them. The picture on the cover is actually the place this session was recorded. 
We hope you enjoy these songs.

Haruko - Wild Geese - 2009

Quality: CBR 192 kbps
Label: Bracken Records, FERN13, UK/US

01 Welcome to Loveland
02 Spring in Our Lungs
03 Man in the Moon
04 Autumn, Golden Trees
05 The Bright Lights
06 Morning Dreams
07 The Mountain Adventure
08 Winter
09 The Dragon's Tears
10 Goodbye my Love, Goodbye

Haruko is Susanne Stanglow (Susi) and she currently resides in Bremen, Germany!
Susi recorded this album during three weeks in december 2008 at her house.
Limited Vinyl (300 copies) housed in a 12" sleeve with lyric insert.

Sunday, August 2, 2009

Espers - II - 2006

Quality: CBR 320 kbps (incl. covers for jewel case)
Label: Drag City, DC310CD, US / Wichita, WEBB110CD, UK

01 Dead Queen
02 Widow's Weed
03 Cruel Storm
04 Children of Stone
05 Mansfield & Cyclops
06 Dead King
07 Moon Occults the Sun

Performer: Meg Baird, Helena Espvall, Otto Hauser, Brooke Sietinsons, Chris Smith, Greg Weeks
Featuring: Alex Abrash, Jesse Sparhawk, Willie Lane, Gary Olsen, Lord Whimsey and Paul Sommerstein, Esq.
Instruments: Martin 6-string acoustic guitars, male & female larynx, Fender Jazz Bass, cello, recorder, flute (as played by Laura Baird), sleigh bells, gongs, bells, '78 Les Paul Custom, Space Echo, Echoplex, Crumar Toccata, Crumar Performer, Univox Mini-Korg, dulcimer, Yamaha 12-string acoustic guitar, Arp Odyssey, Omnichord, Doric transistorised organ, singing bowels, drum kit, doumbek, dholak, bongos, Crybaby, Blue Box, Big Muff (Russian), and Fuzzrite.

Espers - The Weed Tree - 2005

Quality: CBR 320 kbps (incl. covers)
Label: Locust Music, LOCUST 73, US

01 Rosemary Lane
02 Tomorrow
03 Black Is the Color
04 Afraid
05 Blue Mountain
06 Flaming Telepaths
07 Dead King

Meg Baird: acoustic guitar, organ, vocals
Brooke Sietinsons: acoustic guitar
Chris Smith: bass,  percussion
Helena Espvall: cello
Otto Hauser: drums, harmonium, percussion
Greg Weeks: percussion, recorder, synthesizer, vocals

Saturday, August 1, 2009

Espers - Espers - 2003

Quality: CBR 320 kbps (incl. covers)
Label: Locust Music, LOCUST 44, US / Wichita, WEBB084CD, UK

01 Flowery Noontide
02 Meadow
03 Riding
04 Voices
05 Hearts & Daggers
06 Byss & Abyss
07 Daughter
08 Travel Mountains

Brooke Sietinsons: acoustic guitar, guitar 12-string, finger cymbal, percussion, chimes, harmonica
Margie Wienk: cello
Quentin Stoltzfus: effects, tone generator
Laura Baird: flute
Matt Everett: viola
Tara Burke: vocals
Meg Baird: vocals, acoustic & electric guitar, bowed guitar, dulcimer
Greg Weeks: vocals, electric guitar, dulcimer, keyboards, recorder, autoharp, bass, violin, percussion, chimes, recorded
Blog Widget by LinkWithin